Thread: How to: Gauge cluster pod

Scoobie Newbie

How to: Gauge cluster pod

First off, sorry for the non detailed pics, I didn't originally plan on making a how to for this cause I wasn't quite sure how it would turn out as it's my first time doing anything like this. Now that that's out of the way, do this at your own risk, as it's not really something you can undo, once you make the first cut you just have to push forward.

Things I used:
    -2 2" around 52mm female adapter hubs (Ace hardware)-

-Painters tape
    -marker/ pen/ pencil whatever you want.
    -Epoxy (don't really need it, I just used it to hold everything in place to bondo around)
    -Dremel w/ cutting disc, grinding stone, sanding bit.
    -Bondo w/ putty knives
    -sand paper (I used 400grit)
    -Flat black spray paint

First, I took out the cluster shroud, 2 screws up top, drop the steering wheel down, and pop it out.

Second, I wrapped the bottom of the shroud with painters tape and took a pencil to mark where I wanted the gauges to sit. To me was the more difficult step, just cause I wanted everything to sit nicely. Once I did that i took the dremel and cut where the markings were. I cut a little less then what was needed and took the grinding bit and shaved away what I needed for the "pods" to fit nicely. Once I got it to sit nicely, I sat it and spread epoxy around it and let it sit, helps for when it comes time to use the bondo. After one side was done, I started on the other side. Waited about 40min a piece for the epoxy to dry. What I ended up with.