PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of getting rid of my UTEC for AP V2



NoAffiliationSTi
11-05-2007, 05:48 PM
Can I get some opinons of why I should get a AP and get rid of the UTEC?

Justin 05 Sti
11-06-2007, 07:29 AM
What's YOUR opinion - what is making you consider it?

You need to add a 3rd option for a Tactrix cable. :D

NoAffiliationSTi
11-06-2007, 09:16 AM
well to tell ya the truth I hate the DOS interface with the utec.... there isn't shit for maps for me to even start with, my buddy who tunes hates using the utec as well. The tune I had previously was ok...but soon as you turned the a/c on and got on it, the car knocked ...stupid thing

Justin 05 Sti
11-06-2007, 09:47 AM
Well between a re-flash and a piggy back, I would always choose the re-flash.

If your tuner has a preference it's a good idea to go with what he likes. But in my opinion, a good tuner should be able to give you the results you expect regardless of the tool being used. They are just different means of reaching the same goal.

The utec is ahead of the curve with regard to fancy add-on gizmos.

The AP is ahead of the curve with regard to ease of use.

But to me the Tactrix cable beats them both with regard to features vs. price.

NoAffiliationSTi
11-06-2007, 09:55 AM
well can you enlighten me on tactrix, I dont know anything about that one

Justin 05 Sti
11-06-2007, 09:56 AM
well can you enlighten me on tactrix, I dont know anything about that one

Start with the open source tuning sticky in this forum.

Photoroller
11-06-2007, 10:07 AM
Yeah, open source FTW. It has been pretty easy with what has been done to my car with one.

VF34RX
11-06-2007, 10:43 AM
Yeah, open source FTW. It has been pretty easy with what has been done to my car with one.

Same here, the vf34 map we flashed on mine worked out great.

NoAffiliationSTi
11-06-2007, 10:48 AM
well hell apparently i've been missing out here.... i just want my car to run decent... not like i'm askin for much LOL

VF34RX
11-06-2007, 10:52 AM
Read that sticky and talk to justin about the enginuity forum to see what they have or can do with your setup. The openecu tuning is also a good idea and on the cheaper side.

NoAffiliationSTi
11-06-2007, 10:57 AM
i read the sticky and see what i need...i need to d/l the software tonight and take a look at it, i pm'd justin, hopefully he can help me out

Justin 05 Sti
11-06-2007, 11:48 AM
i read the sticky and see what i need...i need to d/l the software tonight and take a look at it, i pm'd justin, hopefully he can help me out

PM replied... I'll help out as much as I can!

Harrison88
11-06-2007, 01:40 PM
opensource for me too :lol:

NoAffiliationSTi
11-06-2007, 01:57 PM
ok here's what i have done to the car and whats coming next...is open source gonna b tricky at all or will I be ok?

Slowboy Racing GT12 Turbo
Turboxs FMIC
Vibrant Header & Up Pipe
Injen Downpipe
Vibrant 3" catback
Fujita short ram

and on the way is
AP 816cc injectors
Aeromotive fuel rails
walbro fuel pump

Harrison88
11-06-2007, 02:15 PM
are you gonna try to tune it yourself or are you gonna get a tuner to do it for you?

either way I think you might consider this
http://kcsubaru.com/viewtopic.php?t=8544

NoAffiliationSTi
11-06-2007, 02:24 PM
for drivability I can do it myself for now til my next trip to STL for my free dyno time hehe

Harrison88
11-06-2007, 02:32 PM
for drivability I can do it myself for now til my next trip to STL for my free dyno time hehe


http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/aa231/sublackberryru/gallery_Napoleon_Dynamite_1.jpg

Luckyee

Justin 05 Sti
11-06-2007, 02:36 PM
ok here's what i have done to the car and whats coming next...is open source gonna b tricky at all or will I be ok?

Slowboy Racing GT12 Turbo
Turboxs FMIC
Vibrant Header & Up Pipe
Injen Downpipe
Vibrant 3" catback
Fujita short ram

and on the way is
AP 816cc injectors
Aeromotive fuel rails
walbro fuel pump

If you are tuned for your setup now, you should be able to glean enough info from that to use with building a map in Enginuity.

If you are starting from scratch, a compressor map for the turbo along with flow and latency values for the injectors will help get you started. The most time consuming bit will probably be with scaling your MAF for the short ram.

NoAffiliationSTi
11-06-2007, 02:51 PM
well the map i have right now isn't worth a shit since changin to a header, new up pipe and the catback... it has some spots that were dyno friendly around 2500-3500rpm...but on the street not so much....

VF34RX
11-06-2007, 02:54 PM
well the map i have right now isn't worth a poop since changin to a header, new up pipe and the catback... it has some spots that were dyno friendly around 2500-3500rpm...but on the street not so much....

Get the cable and just play with numbers, you'll be fine. :roll: :lol:

NoAffiliationSTi
11-06-2007, 02:57 PM
cable is probably gettin ordered tonight...i want to at least get some logs & see where i'm at

VF34RX
11-06-2007, 03:02 PM
cable is probably gettin ordered tonight...i want to at least get some logs & see where i'm at

Thats one of the best things about it. You can run logs to check for knocking and see if your hitting target boost levels along with alot more of course. Then fine tune it to run like it should For a FRACTION of the cost and alot more time.

NoAffiliationSTi
11-06-2007, 03:04 PM
after the 6 hrs of dyno time before from screwin with the utec i dont think i'll mind some time on this one...yea cheap is good lol

yea thats about all the utec is good for at the moment, an expensive knock lite

Harrison88
11-06-2007, 05:03 PM
cable is probably gettin ordered tonight...i want to at least get some logs & see where i'm at

don't forget to get the year specific connectors
I think you need them if you don't have an 06

NoAffiliationSTi
11-06-2007, 05:04 PM
yea i'm just gonna get the kit with jumpers that way if someone else needs to use it they can

gee i'm so nice!

Harrison88
11-06-2007, 05:18 PM
yea i'm just gonna get the kit with jumpers that way if someone else needs to use it they can

gee i'm so nice!

you are so nice :lol:

let me use your car too? :lol:

NoAffiliationSTi
11-06-2007, 05:21 PM
lol i dont think anyone wants to drive a sti thats only running on 12.5psi right now

NoAffiliationSTi
11-08-2007, 10:57 AM
Just ordered my cable from Tactrix, should be here monday. Got a basemap to start with from one of my accounts in Minnesota that uses enginuity a lot for his tuning. Yay GOODBYE UTEC! :twisted:

kyNg02bugeye
11-08-2007, 01:29 PM
Keep the utec while running the enginuity!

NoAffiliationSTi
11-08-2007, 02:05 PM
and do what with it

go1d1e
11-08-2007, 03:58 PM
UTEC Rules..

Free 3 stg shift light
free solenoid connection for IC Sprayer/Alch injection/blender attachment/whatever
and a bunch of other stuff..


Did you try any different software for the UTEC? Or did you just go with the hyperterminal basic setup?


Chechout the software this guy made.. I paid $5 for a copy..
http://www.jeffsoftware.com/UTI/phpBB2/ ... 131a6456d3 (http://www.jeffsoftware.com/UTI/phpBB2/index.php?sid=15d161b002ae290a3a03f9131a6456d3)

You can set it to log on 5 different triggers, using one or all of them.. you can read maps, auto tune, and I think last time I checked you can run your wideband into it.

NoAffiliationSTi
11-08-2007, 04:01 PM
UTEC Rules..

Free 3 stg shift light not worried, I have a gizzmo dual stage to install
free solenoid connection for IC Sprayer/Alch injection/blender attachment/whatever
and a bunch of other stuff.. meth injection kit comes with a seperate box for controlling it


Did you try any different software for the UTEC? Or did you just go with the hyperterminal basic setup? nope, i will look at it


Chechout the software this guy made.. I paid $5 for a copy..
http://www.jeffsoftware.com/UTI/phpBB2/ ... 131a6456d3 (http://www.jeffsoftware.com/UTI/phpBB2/index.php?sid=15d161b002ae290a3a03f9131a6456d3)

You can set it to log on 5 different triggers, using one or all of them.. you can read maps, auto tune, and I think last time I checked you can run your wideband into it.

itsjustacivic
11-27-2007, 02:25 PM
find a competent UTEC tuner.

it makes a world of differance.

NoAffiliationSTi
11-27-2007, 02:27 PM
yea well.. after having met nathan several times and dealing with turboxs in general I just sold the utec instead.....it left this past weekend

rick539
07-26-2009, 09:23 PM
Riftwrx of P&G thinks that the utec is great for racing especially drag. What he likes about it that it is either on or off which gives it the ability to perform well at high output. He does say that if startes to lack above 430 whp where you need a big maf

NoAffiliationSTi
07-26-2009, 09:28 PM
wow this thing is two years old... no idea where it came from...utec has been gone for almost 2 years...crazy