PDA

View Full Version : what supporting mods do I need for a FPgreen?

xXSTi-lynXx
09-10-2010, 05:00 AM
I just bought a FP green Hta and a 44mm tial EWG setup, and Im losing sleep , my mind wont get off it.
I really want to know if I need a FMIC or not- I would rather just upgrade to a better TMIC and not have to mess with it much plus Im trying to be as frugal as possible cause Im a poor college kid - any thoughts ?"
O yeah , Im a newbie to serious bolt-ons- what exactly does rotated setup mean ? - is it just changing the location of the turbo to enable fitment of a larger aftermarket one? - Im am told I dont need to go rotated for the FPG,
I know Im going to need bigger injectors , I plan on running on E 85 - so what cc will I need? 850? 1000?
currently my engine mods are as follows : invidia divorced catless DP, AP v2 , greddy evo2 exhaust, dual catch cans, Spt intake, walbro fuel pump.- - thinking about changing out the invidia for a 4 in turbo Xs catless bellmouth DP upon turbo install :bounce:

yaya
09-10-2010, 07:16 AM
FP Green is a stock location turbo, meaning it is a drop in replacement for an OEM turbo. A rotated turbo is one where the turbo is too large to work in the stock location, so the uppipe and downpipe are modified to raise the turbo and turn it towards the outside of the car so it can physically fit.

Do you need a FMIC? No. You can run a top mount with an FP Green setup. I would at least run it with a STI TMIC or one larger.

I'm not sure on the injector sizing, but whomever you are going to have tune the car should be able to help you get correct size.

Since you've got an 05 STI, you have sidefeed TGVs and injectors. They make 850cc sidefeeds, but I don't think they make 1000cc sidefeeds yet. So, if you need the 1000cc, then you'd have to switch to WRX topfeed TGVs and Fuel Rails. Something to think about...